Why doesn't this message board employ a standard topic/thread format. It is unreadable this way. Visitors must read "answers" first and then scroll dawn and wade through other "discussions" to make any sense of the board at all. It is backwards and counterintuitive. As a long time resident of Norfolk, I trust some of these issues may be of interest; but how should I know?

M. D.

My e-mailed response:

Ok, how do I answer... I could say "this page is my baby, my pride and joy, my labor of love! How can you call it unreadable! We even fix typos, spelling mistakes and incorrect grammar, all free, every day! Takes me anywhere from 4 to 20 hours a week to keep the page up-to-date, I've been doing it for close to 8 years on top of my regular job, and you visited what, once?"

Well, I could, but I'm not going to. You see, I'm a fair-minded fellow, and I can see why you might ask...

I guess this page is not in standard message board format because it's not a standard message board. It started out as a collection of useful info, with occasional commentary by me. In the beginning, very few readers mailed in comments. Each new comment was really a new and unrelated message, having little to do with the prior ones.

As the readership has grown, I've deliberately kept the old format. Although initially I separated some major topics into their own threads, lately I've chosen to keep them all mingled on the page. I purposefully want to expose readers to everyone else's concerns and opinions. I know there are topics that I myself wouldn't go out of my way to read, but I feel it's important to know our neighbors' concerns to be able understand them better, and understanding what's on their mind is necessary to build a community. Most days there are no more than a dozen new posts, maybe 5 minutes to catch up. This is a small town, we can extend our neighbors the courtesy of listening to them.